13 October 2016 | General


table td {height:20px;padding-top:0px;padding-bottom:0px;padding-left:2px;padding-right:2px;text-align:left;txt-}
table {width:auto;}55 CARS appear on the early-bird entry list for the 2017 running of the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour, released today.  In what is rapidly evolving as Australia’s largest endurance race field, the Bathurst 6 Hour looks set to be another classic in 2017 thanks to an increasingly strong grid of Production Cars set for the 14-16 April Event.”The 2017 early-bird entry list is five larger than the corresponding period last year, with more than ten additional entries received, however these cars have yet to complete the application process,” explained Event Director James O’Brien.”There are other competitors intending to participate and thus we are anticipating a very large grid come Easter next year.”It will be quite a sight with cars stretching from the start finish line on Pit Straight right around Murray’s corner and up the hill towards the bridge on Conrod Straight.”The Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour grid will again be one of the most diverse in Australian motorsport with a broad mixture of cars entered throughout the various classes.The headline A1 and A2 classes, for ‘extreme performance’ cars with forced induction and those normally aspirated, will again battle it out for outright honours and include several heavy-hitters amongst the entry to date.Barry Morcom – who entered the race winning BMW 335i Turbo driven by son Nathan and Supercars ace Chaz Mostert – has confirmed his title defence in 2017 that includes a brand-new Ford Focus RS.The revised CAMS Production Car Regulations and eligibility criteria allow the Audi TT RS into the outright class for the first time, with  Tony Alford committing his German thoroughbred to the Race.A host (9) of Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution models are entered, while BMW, HSV and Subaru are also represented in the class A ranks. Despite verbally confirming their intention to compete, the Mercedes-Benz A45 AMG that starred in 2016 has not yet completed the entry process and as such is not on the entry list.Class B cars impressed in 2016, including taking the first two spots on the podium, and will again feature next April thanks to the return of several top-flight BMW entries – including the 2016 winning car and the similar model from GWS Motorsport that twice won the Bathurst 12 Hour enduro.Class C features the return of Bathurst-based Aubin Brothers Racing, a new Alfa Romeo Gulietta QV and Rick Shaw’s popular Mazda RX-8. 10 cars are confirmed for Class D, primarily made up of the increasingly popular Toyota 86 GTS coupe’.Following their popular inclusion in the 2016 race, a host of additional Saloon Cars have entered the Invitational class, as has a Hyundai Excel Cup Car representing the rapidly growing one-make series.The 55-car entry list includes 13 different manufacturers, while entries close for the race on 10 March 2017.ENTRY LIST – HI-TEC OILS BATHURST 6 HOUR (PROVISIONAL)ClassCompetitor MakeModelA1Alan EastMitsubishiLancer EVO IX GSRA1Anthony AlfordAudiTTRS 8JA1Barry MorcomFordFocus RS LZA1Dylan ThomasMitsubishiLancer EVO IX RSA1Dylan ThomasMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Dylan ThomasMitsubishiLancer EVO IX RSA1Glossop Tyre CentreSubaruImpreza WRX Sti V-1A1Jeremy GrayFordFGII GT-FA1Jim PollicinaMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Jim PollicinaMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Peter ConroyMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Peter MajorMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Roderick SalmonMitsubishiLancer EVO X RSA1Simon HodgesBMWM135i Hatch F20A2Daniel FlanaganHoldenVY2-HSV GTSA2Graeme MuirHoldenVE-HSV GTSA2Trevor SymondsHoldenVY-HSV GTSB1Adrian StefanBMW335i E92B1Barry MorcomBMW335i E92B1Ben KavichSubaruImpreza WRX Sti G-2B1Brett McFarlandSubaruImpreza WRX Sti G-2B1Garry MennellBMW335i E92B2Anthony SooleBMWM3 E36 3.2LB2Daniel CliftHoldenVZ SSB2Dean PottsHoldenHSV R8 ClubsportB2Garth WaldenHoldenVE SSV-RedlineB2Joe KrinelosHoldenVF SSV Redline (6.2)B2Scott SullivanHoldenVY SSB2Troy WilliamsHoldenVE SSV-RedlineCBlake AubinRenaultMegane RS 265CColin OsborneRenaultMegane RS 265 Trophy RCColin OsborneRenaultMegane RS 265 Trophy RCDavid RaddatzAlfa RomeoGulietta QVCDoug WestwoodBMWM3 E36 3.0LCNicholas CoxBMW130i E87CPeter O’DonnellBMW130i E87CRic ShawMazdaRX-8 RX8ADChris ReevesToyota86 GTS ZN SERDChristopher ManleyToyota86 GTS ZN SERDDaniel WilliamsToyotaCamryDDavid BakerHondaIntegra Type RDDavid CroweToyota86 GTS ZN SERDDeclan KirkhamMazdaMX6 GE 2.5DGraeme HeathToyota86 GTS ZN SERDGrant PhillipsToyota86 GTS ZN SERDJames VernonToyota86 GTS ZN SERDTrevor KeeneMiniCooper S JCW R53EJordan CoxNissanPulsar N15EPhilip KirkhamEunos30XIAshley JarvisFordFalcon AUIBradley CarrFordFalcon AUIColeby CowhamFordFalcon AUIJohn McClevertyFordFalcon AUILuke AndersenFordFalcon AUIScott StephensonHyundaiExcel X3