28 February 2022 | General

Defending Bathurst winners confirm 2022 return

DEFENDING HI-TEC Oils Bathurst 6 Hour champions Shane Smollen, Rob Rubis and Shane van Gisbergen will return to defend their crown in 2022. 

Confirmed via social media on Friday night, the trio will return in the same BMW M4 that conquered the 2021 edition of the 6-hour.

TICKETS > Click here to purchase tickets online

The trio dominated the race last year, despite needing to overcome a 5-second penalty and numerous restarts throughout the race before claiming victory.

van Gisbergen’s win made him just the second driver in Bathurst history to have claimed the three current Bathurst ‘majors’ – adding the 6-hour title to his Bathurst 1000 and 12-Hour crowns.

The victory was also notable for life-long mates Smollen and Rubis joining forces to win at Mount Panorama.

“Considered as a strong driver line up and the reliability of the BMW product, reflecting on last year’s result was outstanding,” Smollen said.

“I still get emotional talking about it.”

“Waking up and looking at the Bathurst trophy is bucket list sort stuff,” added Rubis.

Said van Gisbergen: “I’m really looking forward to defending the race with Shane and Rob in the M4.”

The defending champions return to what is shaping up to be not only the largest field in Bathurst 6 Hour history, but the most competitive in the history of the race as well.

Will Davison was recently announced to join former winners Tim Leahey and Beric Lynton, while Marcos Ambrose will pair with George Miedecke in a Ford Mustang GT prepared by Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Last week, Bathurst legend John Bowe was announced alongside Aaron McGill in the Ranger Lifting Ford Falcon GT.

Tickets, camping and corporate hospitality remain on sale for the 2022 race.

The Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour will be broadcast live, ad-break free and on demand on Stan Sport in 2022.