8 April 2023 | General

Davison storms to Bathurst 6 Hour Pole

TWO-TIME Bathurst 1000 winner Will Davison has stormed to pole position at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour. 

The Shell V-Power Racing Supercars star set a 2:24.461 in the highly fancied BMW M3 he’ll share with Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey, putting almost half a second on the field in a commanding performance. 

Sharing the front row will be the Go-Karts-Go BMW M3, with former Super2 driver Drew Russell setting a 2:24.958 in the car he’ll share with father Wayne and brother Aaren. 

FULL RESULTS: See how the all qualified

The Newcastle family team starred in last year’s race before falling out of contention late in the day and will be one to watch tomorrow having shown great pace all weekend. 

Anton De Pasquale will be line astern with his Supercars teammate on the grid, as he qualified his BMW M4 in third position.  

De Pasquale will be joined by Anthony Soole and Adam Burgess and will be another key contender in the wide-open race for outright honours. 

Tickford Supercars young gun Thomas Randle will be alongside De Pasquale on the second row of the grid in the BMW M2 Competition he’ll share with Ben and Michael Kavich. 

The M2 Competition is the model that won last year’s 6 Hour in the hands of Cameron Hill and Thomas Sargent and will be a contender tomorrow. 

Two more rising stars of Australian motorsport share row three, with Jayden Ojeda putting his BMW M4 fifth ahead of Tyler Everingham in his BMW M3. 

Ojeda will be joined by Simon Hodges, whilst Everingham will have Michael Auld and the experienced Garth Walden alongside. 

In seventh outright is the Class A2 polesitter, with Ryan Casha taking a surprise class pole in the Century 21 Hazelbrook Ford Mustang GT. 

Casha will link up with Chris Delfsma and Rylan Grey in a class that features several high-profile combinations.  

Ryder Quinn qualified second in class and eighth outright in the Ford Mustang Mach 1 he’ll share with grandfather Tony Quinn and ‘Local Legend’ Grant Denyer.  

The Ford Mustang GT to be piloted by Supercars legend Marcos Ambrose qualified 11th outright and 4th in Class A2. 

The car was qualified by Touring Car Masters driver George Miedecke, with the versatile Tim Brook rounding out a strong trio. 

Carrera Cup star and PremiAir Racing endurance co-driver Dylan O’Keeffe took pole in Class A1 in his Mercedes-AMG A 45 he’ll share with Mike Sheargold and Brett Hobson. 

The Mercedes will start in 9th outright and has always been a very dependable package in race conditions. 

In Class B1, TCR Australia star Jordan Cox took the honours in the BMW 135i he’ll share with Scott Turner and Rob Rubis and will start in 16th outright. 

In Class B2, Michael Ferns claimed pole and 38th outright in the Holden SSV 6.0 that will be co-driven by Justin Elliot and Blair Cole. 

In Class C, Jake Camilleri outqualified several cars in higher classes, including Class B2 polesitter Ferns, to qualify on pole in class and 34th outright in the Mazda 3 MPS he will share with Scott Nicholas.  

In Class D, Posrche Michelin Sprint Challenge driver Lachlan Bloxsom claimed class pole in the Toyota 86 to be co-driven by Murray Dowsett and Mitchell Maddren, which will start in 43rd outright. 

And in Class E, Shane Fowler took the class honours and 56th outright in the Mazda 3 SP25 he will share with Phil Alexander and Stephen Doorey. 

The next time the 59-strong field take to the track is for the warm-up session tomorrow morning at 8:45am, before the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour begins at 11:45am.