30 March 2024 | Uncategorised

Davison Shatters Bathurst 6 Hour Qualifying Record

Will Davison has claimed his second-straight Bathurst 6 Hour pole position after shattering the qualifying record in the Bruce Lynton Service BMW M3 to be co-driven by Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey.

Davison set a remarkable 2m 22.2531s on his first flying lap, beating the qualifying record of a 2m 22.904s set in 2019 by Leahey.

The two-time Bathurst 1000 winner wasn’t the only driver to beat the qualifying record, as Tyler Everingham set a 2m 22.7782s to take the final spot on the front row in the Syd Fab/GWR Australia BMW M3 to be shared with Michael Auld and Brianna Wilson.

FULL RESULTS: Qualifying Sessions Combined

A red flag in the second portion of qualifying for the stopped Class A1 BMW M140i of Jett Johnson nearly spelled disaster for pole contenders David Russell and Jayden Ojeda, who found themselves in 56th and 57th without a representative lap to their names.

With little more than five minutes remaining when the green flag was shown to restart the session, Russell and Ojeda hurled their BMW M4’s around Mount Panorama in a desperate attempt to get their best times on the board.

Reigning 6 Hour winner Ojeda managed fourth on the grid behind Thomas Randle’s Yellow Pages/Race for a Cure BMW M2 Competition, whilst Russell was hurt by an off at The Chase on his first push lap, and could only manage ninth on the outright grid.

The McLennan Motorsport BMW M4 will start behind the first two qualifiers in Class A2, where the Ford Mustang and Chevrolet Camaro’s rivalry will be resumed in production car form.

Aaron Seton claimed class honours in the Megalife Ford Mustang Mach 1, setting a remarkable 2m 24.4522s to go into seventh outright, a time that beat the previous class record set by Ryan Casha last year by more than two and a half seconds.

Josh Muggleton was equally impressive in the Statewide Oil Chevrolet Camaro that makes it’s Bathurst debut this weekend, setting a 2m 24.6305s on his last flying lap to ensure that it will be Mustang v Camaro on row four of the grid.

Class A1 pole went to the Waltec Motorsport BMW M2 Coupe of Paul Blomqvist on a 2m 29.6791s, good enough to qualify in seventeenth outright.

The Team Buccini Racing entry of Karlie Buccini/Courtney Prince/Suzannne Palermo will start from the class pole in Class B, after Prince set a 2m 33.6420s to qualify in 26th outright.

Class C pole went to the MRPS Lolar AED Volkswagen Scirocco R of Patrick Navin/Nathan Halstead, Navin setting a 2m 36.9783s to qualify in 30th outright.

Pole in Class D went to the Alice Buckley/Jack Wood/Jaylyn Robotham Toyota 86 from BPRO/six80racing, with Robotham setting a 2m 40.7738s to sit 40th outright.

And in Class E, the Grit Photo/One Nine Media Mazda 3 of Tony Gardiner/Calvin Longmore/Wil Longmore will be the pole sitter after Longmore set a 2m 46.9285s to go 53rd outright.

The Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour field have a final systems check with a twenty minute warm-up session at 8:55am AEST, before the race begins at 11:45am AEST.

You can watch the race live on the screens of SBS, Fox Sports, and Kayo, check your local guides for details.